The Government of Canada’s terminology and linguistic data bank.

INNER MANTLE [1 record]

Record 1 2011-05-31


Subject field(s)
  • Geology

The mantle is commonly divided into three parts: the upper mantle ... the transition zone ... and the lower mantle.


Below the upper mantle is the lower mantle that extends from 670 to 2900 kilometers below the Earth's surface.


The lower mantle is thought to be dominated by denser silicates with the composition of olivine but a more compact structure similar to the denser rare mineral perovskite.


  • Géologie

Le manteau comprend trois parties : le manteau supérieur, une zone de transition et le manteau inférieur.


Le manteau inférieur s'étend de 650 à 2900 km de profondeur et présente une minéralogie qui lui est propre. Au moins 70 % de cette envelope est formée de pérovskite, un oxyde.


Campo(s) temático(s)
  • Geología
Save record 1

Copyright notice for the TERMIUM Plus® data bank

© Public Works and Government Services Canada, 2020
TERMIUM Plus®, the Government of Canada's terminology and linguistic data bank
A product of the Translation Bureau


Language Portal of Canada

Access a collection of Canadian resources on all aspects of English and French, including quizzes.

Writing tools

A collection of writing tools that cover the many facets of English and French grammar, style and usage.

Glossaries and vocabularies

Access Translation Bureau glossaries and vocabularies.

Date Modified: