Public Works and Government Services Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional Links


Important notice

Good news! We have updated our writing tools. Writing Tips and The Canadian Style have been combined to create a new tool called Writing Tips Plus.

Don’t forget to update your bookmarks. Within a few weeks, Writing Tips will no longer be available.

To begin your search, go to the alphabetical index below and click on the first letter of the word you are searching for.

abbreviations: time zones

Time zones are abbreviated when used with a specific time. Note that capitals are used, without periods.

  • 4:30 p.m. EST
  • 7:15 a.m. MST

When no specific time is given, time zones are written out in full:

  • Pacific Standard Time
  • Mountain Standard Time

The six time zones in Canada and their abbreviations are listed below:

  • Newfoundland Standard Time – NST
  • Atlantic Standard Time – AST
  • Eastern Standard Time – EST
  • Central Standard Time – CST
  • Mountain Standard Time – MST
  • Pacific Standard Time – PST

From March to November, when clocks are put ahead one hour, the time zones are on daylight saving time (DST):

  • Newfoundland Daylight Time – NDT
  • Atlantic Daylight Time – ADT
  • Eastern Daylight Time – EDT
  • Central Daylight Time – CDT
  • Mountain Daylight Time – MDT
  • Pacific Daylight Time – PDT