The Government of Canada’s terminology and linguistic data bank.

MONOMACERAL [1 record]

Record 1 2007-06-11


Subject field(s)
  • Classification of Coal

A coal microlithotype consisting of a single maceral.


At the microscopic level, the associations of coal macerals are named microlithotypes. They have been classified into three main groups: monomaceral, bimaceral and trimaceral according to whether a microlithotype contains one, two or three maceral groups. The monomaceral microlithotypes "vitrite", "liptite" or "fusite" must contain not less than 95% vitrinite, liptinite or inertinite and not more than 5% other maceral groups, respectively.


A maceral is a component of coal. The term "maceral" in reference to coal is analogous to the use of the term "mineral" in reference to igneous or metamorphic rocks. Examples of macerals are inertinite, vitrinite and liptinite.


  • Classification des charbons

Classification des principaux microlithotypes : Monomacéral [...] Bimacéral [...] Trimacéral [...]


Save record 1

Copyright notice for the TERMIUM Plus® data bank

© Public Services and Procurement Canada, 2024
TERMIUM Plus®, the Government of Canada's terminology and linguistic data bank
A product of the Translation Bureau


Language Portal of Canada

Access a collection of Canadian resources on all aspects of English and French, including quizzes.

Writing tools

The Language Portal’s writing tools have a new look! Easy to consult, they give you access to a wealth of information that will help you write better in English and French.

Glossaries and vocabularies

Access Translation Bureau glossaries and vocabularies.

Date Modified: