Public Works and Government Services Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional Links


Important notice

Good news! We have updated our writing tools. Writing Tips and The Canadian Style have been combined to create a new tool called Writing Tips Plus.

Don’t forget to update your bookmarks. Within a few weeks, Writing Tips will no longer be available.

To begin your search, go to the alphabetical index below and click on the first letter of the word you are searching for.

legislature, Legislative Assembly, House of Assembly, National Assembly

A law-making body is a legislature. Parliament is the national legislature of Canada. Most provincial and territorial legislatures in Canada are called Legislative Assembly. There is a House of Assembly in Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and a National Assembly in Quebec.

  • Rajiv was first elected to the Saskatchewan legislature in 1994.
  • There are 19 members in the Nunavut Legislative Assembly.
  • The Nova Scotia House of Assembly is in Halifax.